Google Ad

Stogie T: Heating up the South African Rap Scene




Technical Execution


Audio Production


Song Variety




A South African rapper and poet, Stogie T was the lead vocalist of Tumi and the Volume. 

Stogie T relaunched himself in 2016 when the band broke up in 2012. He then released an album called Stogie T. He featured Da L.E.ES., Lastee, Emtee, Nasty, Nadia Nakai, and Yanga. 

His two main singles from the album are

  • Diamond Walk
  • By Any Means

He featured Nadia Nakai in the first song and a hook and verses from Emtee and Yanga.


Stogie T’s birthname is Boitumelo Molekane. Molekane was born in Tanzania, while his parents lived in South Africa in exile. He is a 

  • Hip-Hop rapper
  • Poet
  • Songwriter

Stogie started raping at a very young age and joined a nine-member crew called P.E.R.M and recorded a few songs. He later co-founded the group Tumi and the Volume. The band produced several albums and continued to do so until it got disbanded. 

On the side, Stogie produced solo albums and EPs on the side and released 3 albums and 2 EPs. Stogie also published a book, a collection of poems, titled The Black Inside Out.

Stogie released his debut album in 2006, Music from My Good Eye, via his record label, Motif Records. This album was listed as one of the greatest South African albums of all time. 

South Africa undoubtedly has produced some decent hip hop music. Being one of the first South African Hip hop artists, Stogie has played a very important role in introducing and reviving rap music. He also developed S.A. hip hop through rap battles and ciphers.

Some More information

  • Tumi was also involved in the Dead Prez show around late in 2000.
  • He also took part in the Black August tour to South Africa in 2001.
  • In 2001, he published a book, a collection of poems, entitled “The Black Inside Out.”
  • He released a track titled “POWA” in 2012, which was about the condemnation of women abuse.
  • The album ‘Music from my good eye’ was later listed as one of the greatest South African albums of all time.
  • Stogie T featured on Ghanaian rapper M.anifest’s album Nowhere Cool.



  • Artistic Representation of Truth 2001 under P.E.R.M.
  • The Tao of Tumi (2001) as Tumi
  • A Dream Led to This (EP 2002) as Tumi
  • At The Bassline (2004) under Tumi & The Volume
  • Tumi and the Volume (2006) ) under Tumi & The Volume
  • Ke Sho Case Showcase (EP 2006) as Tumi
  • Music from my good eye (LP 2007) as Tumi
  • Whole Worlds (LP 2010) as Tumi
  • Pick A Dream (2010) as Tumi & The Volume
  • Stogie T (2016)
  • Honey and Pain (2018)
  • The Empire of sheeps (2020)


Youtube Channel:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *